Bruno Mars returns to albums No.1 with ‘Doo Wops & Hooligans’

Bruno Mars has returned to the top of the UK album chart with his debut studio album Doo Wops & Hooligans.

The Hawaii-born singer’s LP finally made pole position after resting in second place for the past fortnight. It previously reached number one in the week of its release last January.

21 by Adele – which topped the chart for a 19th week last Sunday almost a year after its release – is knocked down to two, while midweek leader Given To The Wild by The Maccabees is a new entry at four, handing the band their highest placing to date.

BeyoncĂ© climbs one to complete the top five with her June 2011 release 4, as The Vaccines also climb up the rankings with What Did You Expect From The Vaccines, at six from last week’s 16.

Elsewhere in the Top 10, the self-titled debut from Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds boosts seven places to eight, Kasabian’s Velociraptor is up to nine from 17 and the posthumous Amy Winehouse album Lioness: Hidden Treasures is down five to ten.

The Top 10 in full:
1. (2) Bruno Mars: ‘Doo Wops & Hooligans’
2. (1) Adele: ’21’
3. (3) Ed Sheeran: ‘+’
4. (-) The Maccabees: ‘Given To The Wild’
5. (6) Beyonce: ‘4’
6. (16) The Vaccines: ‘What Did You Expect From The Vaccines’
7. (4) Coldplay: ‘Mylo Xyloto’
8. (15) Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds: ‘Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’
9. (17) Kasabian: ‘Velociraptor’
10. (5) Amy Winehouse: ‘Lioness: Hidden Treasures’

The fallers continue further down the double digits, with In Case You Didn’t Know by Olly Murs and Who You Are by Jessie J dropping four apiece to 11 and 12 respectively.

Mighty gains are achieved by Foster The People’s Torches and Stereo Typical from Rizzle Kicks, which shoot 14 and ten entries respectively to 13 and 14. Rihanna settles in behind at 15 with Talk That Talk, down five this week.

At the close of the top 20, Westlife and Will Young fall seven together to 18 and 19 with Greatest Hits and Echoes, while Rebecca Ferguson’s Heaven drops 11 from its previous finish at nine.

Source: Official Charts Company