‘The Hunger Games’ wins US box office with $155m

Jennifer Lawrence in The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games has topped the US box office with $155 million.

The movie, based on the best-selling book by Suzanne Collins, has made history by earning the third biggest movie debut of all time, and the highest debut for any movie opening outside of summer.

It stars Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen, a young girl who must fight to the death on live television in a dystopian version of the future. It also features Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Lenny Kravitz, Woody Harrelson and Elizabeth Banks.

The debut knocked out the hit Channing Tatum comedy 21 Jump Street, which fell to number two on the list, making $21.3 million.

Also still hanging on to the top spots are The Lorax in third place with $13.1 million, and the sci-fi adventure John Carter, coming in at number four with a little over $5 million.

John Carter, which stars Taylor Kitsch, Willem Dafoe and Dominic West, has proven to be a major flop for Disney, which has lost $200 million in the investment.

An even less stellar performance came from the anti-abortion movie October Baby, which debuted at number 8, earning $1.7 million.

Making $1.3 million, the Dwayne Johnson family adventure Journey 2: The Mysterious Island rounds out the top ten.

The US box office top ten in full (studio estimates):
(-) The Hunger Games – $155,000,000
2. (1) 21 Jump Street – $21,300,000
3. (2) Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax – $13,100,000
4. (3) John Carter – $5,014,000
5. (5) Act of Valor – $2,062,000
6. (4) Project X – $1,950,000
7. (6) A Thousand Words – $1,925,000
8. (-) October Baby – $1,718,000
9. (7) Safe House – $1,400,000
10. (8) Journey 2: The Mysterious Island – $1,373,000