Protest song against Theresa May makes the Official Singles Chart Top 5

Liar Liar, the song criticising Prime Minster Theresa May by Captain Ska has made its debut on the Official Singles Chart.

The track enters at Number 4 on this week’s Top 40, giving the seven-piece London band this week’s highest new entry.

Liar Liar has been scaling the Official Chart all week, ahead of the General Election on June 8. The song was originally released in 2010 in response to the coalition government, but band recorded a new version of their track that includes soundbites from several of May’s speeches and the lyrics: “She’s a liar liar, you can’t trust her, no, no, no”.

Sales of Liar Liar are being driven by downloads, with 42,000 people picking up a digital download of the track this week, while the song has so far been streamed just over 300,000 times.

The song’s music video, which includes statistics on UK poverty levels and references to school and police cuts, is now has almost two million views on YouTube.

Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee make Official Chart history today as Despacito becomes the longest reigning foreign language Number 1 on the Official Singles Chart.

Meawhile, the rest of the Top 3 remains unchanged: DJ Khaled’s I’m The One ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper and Lil Wayne is at 2, and Liam Payne’s Strip That Down holds at 3.

British producer Jonas Blue claims his third Top 10 single this week with Mama ft. William Singe, up four places from last week to Number 8. Close behind is Rita Ora – her first headline single in two years Your Song debuts at 13.

Further down, Little Mix’s Power ft. Stormzy makes its debut at Number 27. The track is the fourth single from their chart-topping Glory Days album and earns the group at 17th Top 40 hit.

Check out this week’s Top 100 Official Singles Chart in full